Commendation for Leah!

by | Aug 5, 2020 | People

Dr Leah Macaden, a senior lecturer and lead for internationalisation in the department of nursing and midwifery, was recognised in the Highlands and Islands Students’ Association awards.   

Congratulations, Leah!

Dr Macaden, who lives in Lentran and works at the Centre for Health Science, was highly commended in the best research supervisor category and was also a nominee for the best personal academic tutor award. Feedback highlighted her enthusiasm and student-centred approach, with one student explaining:

Dr Macaden has helped to make the challenging PhD research journey enjoyable and easier due to her high levels of experience, professionalism and approachability. She has consistently demonstrated high levels of enthusiasm for my project and her awareness of the fine detail contained within it is impressive. She has a unique talent for supervising postgraduate research students. It is best described by reciprocity; students want to do their best to ‘re-pay’ the amount of effort, authenticity and enthusiasm that Dr Macaden provides. Dr Macaden also has more fundamental qualities – she is kind, considerate and dependable.

Dr Macaden commented:

The department of nursing and midwifery is a great place to work that fosters creativity, freedom and commitment. Having been a recipient and beneficiary of excellent professional education and research expertise myself from India and Scotland, it is really important to me that I continue to invest in high quality nurse education and research in what I call the ‘bank of nursing’ for others to be able to draw from. I consider it both an awesome privilege and responsibility to be able to invest in future nurses and health care researchers for our region and beyond. I feel incredibly blessed with the commendation and am very grateful to my students and HISA (Highlands and Islands Students’ Association) to be recognised in this way.

Organised by the HISA awards give students a chance to thank the academic staff, support staff and students who have inspired and supported them. The annual awards are judged by a student panel and winners are selected on the quality of the nomination.